7 Vignettes by Interiors Addict…let me tell you more!

All this year I’ve participated in the 7 Vignettes Competition run by Jen Bishop @ The Interiors Addict

It a ‘not so little’ competition anymore, with over 40k images shared on IG with the #7vignettes hashtag. Jen selects a guest judge at her discretion, to choose 7 words or ‘prompts’. These are usually released a few days prior to the end of the month, giving you a bit of time to prepare your pics, if your organised. The 7 Vignettes community enthusiastically create images or ‘vignettes’ describing the words chosen.

Each month my excuses range from….Should I? Shouldn’t I? I’m too busy? The prompts are too hard? I’m not creative enough? My pictures are so bad! …But, each month this year I’ve given it a go, and it’s fun, if you enjoy styling, creativity & photography. The overwhelming encouragement by other people taking part in the event always astounds me!

I’ve been employing the ‘5 minute’ set up rule this month, which has worked well. Sometimes the most simple pictures are the best I think!

The September 2014 7 Vignettes was guest judged by Mr Jason Grant, with his new book ‘Holiday at Home’ up for grabs, what a great prize!

IMG_2525.PNG ( image via The Interiors Addict)

These were the prompts this month…

IMG_2522.PNG

Here were my pics:

Day 1 – ‘Yellow’ – Being the first day of Spring, I thought it was appropriate I made this beautiful posy of flowers, which then featured as my consistent item in my pics this month. I also had to use my book by Mr. Jason Grant in my pics too!

IMG_2192.JPG

Day 2 – ‘Forever Summer’ – My image here featured ice creams, memories of Summer & enjoying warm weather!

IMG_2214-0.JPG

Day 3 – ‘Holiday’ – I styled a pictured with map of Italy, my flowers again featured, a place I’d love to visit one day & explore my husbands family culture.

IMG_2523.PNG

Day 4 – ‘Stripes’ – I kept this image pretty simple. I don’t have a lot of stripes in my home, or in many accessories. I found this one a bit tricky, but a simple posy with striped ribbons was my picture. It was my most popular pic of the round.

IMG_2264.JPG

Day 5 – ‘Nostalgia’ – I’m a collector of a few vintage pieces and recently found these fabulous Schweppes bottles. A ‘lay flat’ picture was a bit tricky as they kept rolling around. Pops of yellow again were my signature feature.

IMG_2267.JPG

Day 6 – ‘Family’ – My 2 boys love chatting about my pics & what I’m creating. We though a few little hand models would be cute in this one.

IMG_2346.JPG

Day 7 – ‘Four-Legged Friend’ – I don’t have a dog anymore, my old girl went to the kennell in the sky a few years ago. My husband bought me this after my love of the fantastic sculptor & mosaic artist ‘Pamela Irving’. Her bronze sculpture of ‘Larry LaTrobe’ features in Melbourne’s city square. Have a look at him next time you’re in the city. My ‘Little Larry’ sits quietly in my lounge room, creating little fuss!

IMG_2430.JPG

Here was my grid all together…

IMG_2434.PNG

The winner this month was Helen Hamilton , her blog is Quaint Envy Her entries were wonderful, lots of texture & pops of yellow in each shot! Congrats Helen!
Here was her grid…

IMG_2524.PNG

I wonder what excuse I’ll come up with next month…..no doubt I’ll participate again! Have a look at Interiors Addict on IG & check out all the details.

✖️Kelly

Here are a few more of my favourites…search for these guys on IG!

IMG_2528.PNG

IMG_2526.PNG

IMG_2527.PNG

IMG_2529.PNG

IMG_2532.PNG

IMG_2530.PNG

IMG_2531.PNG

IMG_2546.PNG

Those that have websites or links are found below! ✖️😉

Sarah Hanahan

Jess Vicarde

Yvette Wilson

Madeline Norris

3 thoughts on “7 Vignettes by Interiors Addict…let me tell you more!

Leave a comment